News: News

Posted on Aug 13, 2015

WEBINAR: Obesity Evaluation Toolkit: Resources for Evaluating Community-Level Obesity Prevention Efforts, Tuesday, August 25, 12-1pm ET

Webinar: Resources for Evaluating Community-level Obesity Prevention Efforts
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
9:00am PT, 10:00am MT, 11:00am CT, 12:00pm ET
To join: Please dial 877-278-2734 and use participant pin number 714652. Please click the following link or copy/paste it in your web browser to join Glance: http://ctb.glance.net?key=4082.

Overview: Obesity poses one of the greatest public health challenges of the 21st century, creating serious health, economic, and social consequences for individuals and society. Despite acceleration in efforts to characterize, comprehend, and act on this problem, including implementation of preventive interventions, further understanding is needed about the progress and effectiveness of these interventions.

In 2013, the Institute of Medicine (IOM) released Evaluating Obesity Prevention Efforts: A Plan for Measuring Progress. In addition to a national plan for planning, implementing, and evaluating the results of obesity prevention–related policies and programs, the report outlines a Community Obesity Evaluation Plan that identifies key components of implementing evaluations at the community level. The IOM is launching a newly-created resource page that provides an overview of key steps and principles in community-level evaluation, as well as links to related resources from the IOM, government agencies, and the Community Tool Box.

This webinar will provide introductory remarks about the 2013 IOM Report, and will feature steps in community evaluation and related resources for supporting evaluation efforts.

Learning Objectives: At the end of the webinar, participants will be able to:

  • Identify benefits of evaluating obesity prevention–related policies and programs;
  • Describe steps in evaluating community-level obesity prevention efforts;
  • Access resources supporting community-level obesity prevention efforts

Presenters: Lawrence Green, University of California at San Francisco; Leslie Sim, Institute of Medicine; Stephen Fawcett and Christina Holt, Work Group for Community Health and Development at the University of Kansas